INCREASING THE PRICE OF PERTROL IS THE BEST WAY TO SOLVE THE GROWING TRAFFIC AND POLLUTION PROBLEMS.

In today's modern fast-paced world, there is a significant rise in the number of vehicles which lead to the sharp increase in petrol consumption. Although, some people have opined that by inflating the petrol prices, government can control its consumption and other problems manifested because of its usage. In my opinion, this will alleviate the problems of traffic and pollution only to a limited extent. Admittedly, rampant increase in private vehicles causes the traffic problem and is consequently the top contributing factor for air and sound pollution. As more and more automobiles hit the road, the fuel combustion consumption grows exponentially. By increasing the gasoline prices, the authority can control it to some extent because few people might start using public transit for economic reason. However, a large segment of society still continues to drive a car as their preferred mode of transportation. For instance, over the last few decades, the price of crude oil and gasoline has skyrocketed, but the number of personal vehicles such as bikes and cars is significantly higher today than in the past. On the other hand, authority (administration, supervision) should think of other measures which motivate people to prefer public transit over cars and motorbikes. Firstly, advertisement and commercial should be placed to make people aware of the benefits of using public transport. Secondly, public transit should be made cheap and efficient that the general public can increase their savings by simply using them instead of driving personal vehicles. Thirdly, the state should have a well-organized and well-connected transportation system which ensures (enable) people to reach from one place to another in minimum time with the same comfort they have in their own car (to enable them to commute with the same comfort of their personal vehicle). Given the comfort and saving of time and money, people will tend to switch to public transport. In conclusion, the price of petrol alone would not alone mitigate the increasing problems of traffic and pollution in our society, but the government should recommend economic and financial benefit of using public transport. Celebrities and politicians can also help in spreading this awareness by using the public conveyance among the general public.