Approaches and methods in foreign language teaching for children

Teaching children a foreign language has always required a special approach. In this essay I would like to discuss the differences between methods used in teaching a foreign language for children and adolescents, mainly a way to make the studying process more effective, therefore beneficial for young learners. The most common difficulties which occur in childrens’ education are extremely short attention spans, totally different thought processes and another perception of the world overall. Taking into consideration all these aspects we are required to create an effective studying process using various strategies and techniques appropriate for young learners. Talking about limited time of childrens’ focus, is it where interactive ways of learning come into play. The teachers should build the educational process around activities of different types, such as activities including movement and physical exercises, combining of listening, speaking and talking ones. Moving quickly from one activity to another will assist your learners to stay both focused and interested in the process. As Stakanova & Tolstikhina write in their article, is it extremely important to operate with playful forms of education, such as poems, songs, fairy-tales, short plays, cartoons, and any and all kinds of visual aids to stimulate children’s engagement into the process (Stakanova and Tolstikhina 6). Another difficulty in teaching children that makes a significant difference in contrast to teaching adults or adolescents is an impossibility to keep children motivated and concentrated on a task they are not interested in or find difficult. Though children are willing to experience and explore the world, the teaching approaches and methods used for language acquisition often meet the needs and cognitive capacities of only adults. Therefore they do not match the criteria required for children, whilst young learners do not acquire such terms as ‘need’ of remembering a particular set of words as they think in a different way. Hence, you will not be able to explain to a 4-year-old why he or she should continue filling in the gaps with missing words for another 5 minutes. The solution to this problem may also involve switching the format of tasks during the educational process. Differentiating the activities during the class and using playful methods keeps children involved and strengthens their learning abilities. In order to be able to put this characteristic [innate instinct for language acquisition] to use, the teacher must deliberately develop and carry out an appropriate methodology through real tasks, or interesting activities that aren’t just language exercises, but that also give the children the chance to use and elaborate language while their minds are focused on the task. This is why games are not only a playful addition to class but they also provide an opportunity to use and assimilate real use of the language while the mind is focused on participating in the game as well as being a very effective opportunity for indirect learning. (Rodriguez and Mendez 7) The other thing that makes children language acquisition different from adults is their inner drive to learn through communication with other people. As O. Dunn claims, “young children seem to be ‘tuned in’ to listen to language, absorb it and then use it through social interaction with supportive others to find out about the world. Their energy to ask, enquire and make sense of their world is remarkable. ” (Dunn 78). This is an advantage that should be used by teachers, as childrens’ nature is to develop their knowledge about this world by socializing with other children. Such teaching techniques as group tasks, pair work and whole-class activities will be helpful not only in language acquisition, but also in collaborating with peers. In other words, when it comes to teaching children a foreign language there are significant differences compared to the adults acquainting process. To successfully teach a child a foreign language there are a few important things to know. The first one thus the most crucial is combining various methods of activities to keep children focused and engaged into the studying process. The second aspect worth mentioning is shifting from one kind of activity to another within a few minutes, as young learners’ attention is time limited. The third element is social interaction during the teaching process, with their peers or older people. Teaching children definitely requires more effort, patience and knowledge on which methods and approaches to use, as they are not able to view this world as we, adults, do. Although it pays off when teachers realize the impact of their effort and recognizes the result of their work without exceptions.