Employers should ensure that there are equal numbers of males and females in managerial posts in companies.

The need to find ways to reduce gender issues in the workplace has been a hot topic for decades. While it is thought by some that business owners should reserve equal proportions for both genders in executive positions, it can be argued that the notion of providing an equal number of seats in the board of directors is not the ideal way of achieving equal opportunities in terms of employment. To begin, having the same number of men and women in managerial posts in all companies is simply unrealistic. If a company decides to fill managing positions with equal numbers of both sexes, it would need enough qualified candidates in each gender. In reality, high-level job positions usually attract males more than females, and it would be impractical to aim for equal proportions. Thus, it is more difficult to fill these places if 50 per cent of them needed to go to females. As a result, ensuring equal numbers of both genders in upper-level posts is nearly impossible. In addition, it would also be unfair to base promotions to high-level jobs on gender. Employers should continue to select the best candidates for each position according to their qualifications not gender. In this way, both males and females have the same opportunities. If the selection is based upon gender, it will make employees believe their gender is more important than experience which will lead to discrimination in the offered employment opportunities between males and females. Consequently, reserving the same number of seats for each gender is not a viable solution to eliminate gender issues. In conclusion, providing equal opportunities in terms of administration positions is necessary. However, the selection of those managers should be based on merit as it would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on gender.