Increasing in petrol prices has been seen in surge, for a common man to travel and the good to be transported. Is it linked to the pollution increase.

Enhancing petrol costs for the common man in any country cannot be an effective way of bringing down traffic and pollution problems. I do not concur with the given statement about raising the price of petrol, because it will indirectly push up the rates of many other commodities which are transported from faraway places. There are several other methods by which the traffic and pollution issues can be tackled. I shall discuss these solutions in the following paragraphs. In several developed nations, the administration there is implementing a variety of innovative methods to bring down traffic and pollution. Ideas such as car-pooling, toll charges in high traffic density areas, effective lane management and traffic control are being used to reduce the emission of poisonous gases into the air and stop accumulation of vehicles on the roads. These methods will not harm the poor and underprivileged sections of the society and will be useful in curbing the traffic and pollution issues. (Optional Para) My views on this topic have been strengthened by a few personal experiences. In 2012, the Government of India tried to enhance the petrol rates by Rs 20/- as the import costs from the Gulf had increased. But most opposition parties did not accept this and protested vehemently against it. The Public also did not appreciate this action and people came on to the roads to fight against the rise in Petrol prices. In response to this, the government had to give up its plans to push up the fuel rates. This clearly shows that any solution for pressing problems such as traffic and pollution should be pragmatic and suited to the needs of the vast majority in a country. In deep contrast to my views expressed above, some people feel hiking petrol prices will be very beneficial, because this will be a strong blocking mechanism to stop people from using their vehicles. But these people are usually very rich or sections of society which will gain by an increase in the petrol rates. High petrol costs will not impact the rich people because; they will use their vehicles even if the fuel rates are very high. As a person who belongs to a middle class family, I know how important it is for the common man to use his vehicle to move around quickly and complete his daily tasks. If people like me cannot utilize their vehicles, then we will not be able to earn as much as we are earning now. Also in emergencies, we have to use our personal vehicles; hence in a developing country like India where the majority belong to the middle class, hiking the petrol rates is not a very sensible proposition. Based on the extensive deliberation in the above paragraphs, we can infer that pushing up petrol prices is a method which lacks foresight and will only be counterproductive. Using some of the more feasible ways discussed in the earlier paragraphs can provide effective solutions to the pressing problems of traffic and pollution.