Increasing human activities in the contemporary world has made a significant impact on natural habitation. Several individuals, are of the opinion that trees should be grown on unoccupied areas while others are of the view that residential buildings should be constructed instead. This essay agrees that trees should be put-in in empty places.

To commence with merits the growing forests is of immense benefit to human habitat. First, it halts water erosion and releases oxygen into the territory to make food for itself. In addition, their roots prevent soil erosion by holding its particles firmly, thereby preventing washing away by run-off water, which consequently wreaks havoc on the environment. For example, the recent floodings in Kaduna, Taraba and Lagos States were attributed to increased felling of timber for the provision of firewood. Furthermore, another critical benefit of expanding forest is its provision of natural habitat for wild animals. Some wild creatures like the Rhinoceros and the Mountain Gorilla are being threatened and almost face extinction due to deforestation caused by rapid urbanization. Therefore, conserving these animal's natural environment will prevent them from phasing out. To elaborate, for example, a report from the Animal Protection Organization of Nigeria confirmed that 20% of wild animals are endangered due to habitat loss, which could lead to attacks on humans. To sum up, it is glaringly evident that planting trees is of tremendous benefit. It is imperative to prevent ground disintegration and improve the preservation of both human and animal habitation. Hence, individuals should be encouraged to show more.