In your opinion, which is more beneficial for children: playing sports or studying a foreign language? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It is undoubted that playing sports and picking up a foreign language bring many benefits for children in various aspects. From my point of view, choosing a language to learn is more beneficial for kids. In this essay, I will discuss several compelling reasons to shed light on my viewpoint. First of all, learning a novel language can help children a lot in development their language ability and other indispensable skills in later stages of life. Children are prone to learning a new language faster and easier at an early age compared to grown-ups or seniors. Therefore, parents should take advantage of their golden time to give them chances to exposure to new languages when they are still young. Doing this would help children develop their language capability and other important skills, including creative thinking, problem solving and interpersonal skills. Those benefits play an essential role in helping them become high achievers hereafter. Another vital reason is that children who learn a foreign language tend to have more job opportunities when they grow up. In the modern age of globalization, more and more companies are seeking employees that speak more than one language. In other words, those who can communicate across borders and able to use a foreign language proficiently in some specific products and services, such as legal, medical, technical, and scientific fields can easily find a job in the labour market. Furthermore, employees who speak more than one language are often paid significantly more than their monolingual counterparts. In conclusion, although playing sports plays an indisputably important role in children’s physical health, studying a foreign language brings more benefits for chidren, since it helps them become a well-rounded person with several highly valuable skills and finding an employment will not be a big issue for their future career.