In your opinion, is it important for everone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

As we have known that, English is an international language for the world. It is one of the languages to keep the entire world to link together. In my thoughts, learning English will bring no boundaries of communication with people, meanwhile, the local language is also essential in our lives too. Language is one of the ways to connect with the world. In this whole wide world, there are different people who speak hundreds of languages. Therefore, English as the international language has the purpose of letting people from all over the world understand and express their thoughts. During the era of technology, people allow to travel and work in different countries and meet different kinds of people. It is better when we interact with their local languages. It may seem more friendly while communicating with the local residents. However, what if we do not speak their languages? This is why the importance of learning English. Besides, I believe that the fastest way to connect with the world is to communicate. In our lives, we will have the opportunities to meet travelers from different countries. Thus, learning a foreign language is beneficial to us and it will look impressive to foreigners. Hence, I think that people should learn English to survive and learning local languages is a form of additional skill for our future career too. To sum up, learning English may be hard but it is a precious asset for our future life. Nelson Mandela once quoted, 'Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world. ' Educating people to learn English and local languages will bring convenience to our life.