Topic: These days, the population in urban areas all over the world is increasing rapidly. Discuss the problem caused by this phenomenon and suggest way that government can do to tackle this problem.

It is true that the number of city dwellers increases. This essay will first suggest several significant problems caused by this phenomenon and then submit some viable solutions. Several related problems are expected when overpopulation is gaining in popularity in major cities. The foremost problem caused by this issue is environmental pollution, namely air pollution, and water pollution. Since a great number of people move to the city, there has been an increasingly personal means of transport and the gas emission from these vehicles could have adverse impacts on air quality. Furthermore, the management of sewage facilities is poor due to the burden of a large amount of household waste releasing every day, so the existing sources of freshwater could be polluted with hazardous materials and toxic chemicals. As a result, these pollutants would contribute to respiratory as well as infectious diseases. This problem could be addressed through practical measures. Firstly, the way forward might be to increase job opportunities for rural people. Specifically, the investors should prompt a shift toward building more factories, businesses and encouraging start-ups in the countryside, which decreases the needs of moving to the major cities to seek jobs as well as the problem of joblessness. Secondly, dealing with overpopulation in metropolitan areas also involves building environmentally-friendly cities. The government should launch a publicity campaign to promote the use of cleaner public transport as well as diminish the use of personal transport, which results in minimizing air pollution and traffic congestion. In conclusion, overpopulation in urban areas is an alarming problem. Yet if governments and investors share a collective responsibility, then it may well become possible to offer some solutions.