Today, nearly 5 billion people in the world are regular users of the Internet. Some say that the Internet has brought people closer while others believe it makes people become more isolated.

These days, thanks to the breakthrough of modern technology, the use of the Internet is rising on a daily basis. Although some people claim that the Internet could bridge the gap between each other, I still believe that it also results in the isolation which separates users. On the one hand, the Internet has brought people closer. Specifically, there are a great number of applications which the users are able to use in order to keep in touch with others, such as video conference apps, video calls or messaging apps. They have simply revolutionized the ways users communicated despite geographical distances. At the same time, they also make people posted every moment in others’ lives without spending for extended periods moving to their paces. On the other hand, Internet users may suffer from the isolation in the virtual world. That is to say, the Internet with a variety of social network sites make people overuse them as well as scroll aimlessly for a long time and ignore their relationships in reality. To illustrate, since social media has become more prevalent, people are inclined to want to interact with people online rather than in person because it has made the process simpler. In other words, some sources of recreation on these platforms on the Internet also gripped the attention of users and made them too immersed in this digital world which can break interaction among the members of a family, a group of friends or co-workers. In conclusion, while the Internet helps people narrow the gap between each other, there are still a number of downsides in terms of communication.