In Vietnam many university students go to evening classes of English at private language centres. For these students, what are the advantages and disadvantages of taking extra English lessons at these language centres?

The number of Vietnamese university students who take extra evening English courses in privately-owned language institutions has been increasing recently. In my opinion, this phenomenon has both merits and demerits for those students, which will be illustrated in this essay. There are several reasons why it might be argued that attending extra English classes is beneficial for university students. The most outstanding benefit of this case is that it can help students to improve their English skills and widen employment prospects. Because English plays a crucial role in modern life, quite a few people want to pursue this language by studying in extra evening classes in private centers. Thanks to these ones, more and more people will have more chances to study English and achieve a certificate of proficiency in using English, which creates more job opportunities, especially when they want to apply for a position in international companies which require English certificates like IELTS or TOEIC. Another advantage of extra English courses is that they are flexible in time. Because most of these courses are commonly organized in the evening and at weekends, students can easily arrange their timetable to take these ones without coinciding with the learning schedule at their universities. Nevertheless, I tend to agree with the view that private centers’ evening courses also have several drawbacks for learners. The foremost demerit of these classes is that they can ruin their academic performance at the universities. Most of the students in Vietnam attend their major classes in the morning and afternoon, and the rest of a day is spent on revising knowledge as well as doing their homework. If students take these evening classes, they do not have any extra time for finishing their assignments and meeting deadlines in their universities. As a result, they cannot concentrate on their main majors at the university, which may have a negative impact on the academic record at the university. Furthermore, the qualities of some private English centers in Vietnam are not particularly authorized and standardized by the ministry of education. If students only randomly choose a language center without having an accurate understanding of its information, including teachers’ qualities and enterprise registration certificate, they may struggle in their English learning process. In conclusion, whether joining in extra evening English classes or not depends on the interest and purpose of each individual. To study English effectively, students should arrange their time appropriately to make a balance between major classes and extra ones, and they need to be well-informed about the private centers in which they want to take courses.