In today’s society, building up children’s imagination plays an important role, hence, which measure is better is an argued issue to the general public.

In today’s society, building up children’s imagination plays an important role, hence, which measure is better is an argued issue to the general public. Some people believe that watching TV helps children increase imagination. Personally speaking, I completely disagree with this idea. Discussed below are several reasons in favor of my perspectives. To begin with, people should recognize that children can better improve their imagination through reading books in comparison with watching television. A very important point to consider is that children have to use their imagination to create a vision, sound, and visualize all the actions and events described by words in the book’s stories. This means that while reading, they will create images, thoughts, and opinions in their mind, thus contributing to enhancing their imagination and creativity. I would especially like to mention that immersing myself in comic books makes children imagine that they are the main character appearing in the stories. This is really one of the significant factors affecting imagination development. Meanwhile, this can hardly be the case for watching television, as television already provides them with the available image, real colours, and live sounds. Consequently, it is reasonable to say that reading books help children produce more imaginative responses compared to watching TV. In addition, reading books also develops children’s verbal capacities compared to watching television. Children will have a wide range of vocabularies as well as sentence structures through reading. Therefore, reading books can provide great opportunities for children to advance their vocabulary level, resulting in their better writing skills. Meanwhile, when it comes to television shows or films, sounds and images are two ultimate elements rather than texts. That is to say, books are far better than television shows at increasing children’s vocabulary in many cases. In conclusion, the above mentioned facts have created a dilemma when people evaluate the impact of this issue, and it is still a controversial issue. As far as I am concerned, it could have both positive and negative impacts. People should have further consideration on this issue.