In today’s competative world, many people work long hours. They do not prioritize themselves over work and end up having very little time for leisure activities.

Nowadays, employees have to work really hard to retain their jobs. To earn enough, the majority of people are working overtime and this leaves them with no time for relaxation.  While working long hours may be essential for career growth, it can also lead to several health complications. Hence, in my opinion, this development has more downsides than merits. Working overtime might help people earn raises and promotions more easily. This is because employees spend long hours at the workplace are considered more loyal by their employers. Hence, they are more likely to be considered for promotions. They are also less likely to lose their job in the event of downsizing. So, obviously, there are some benefits to putting in more hours. On the other hand, when people spend an inordinate amount of time at the workplace, they will have no time for their family or leisure activities. Unfortunately, this creates problems in their personal life and hurts their mental health. Everybody needs some time for themselves. If they are always working, they cannot get that ‘me time’. In the long run, it leads to burn out and they will develop various physical and mental health problems. Studies have shown that stress is one of the biggest factors contributing to health problems and finding time for fun and leisure is essential to beat stress. In my opinion, the disadvantages of working overtime outweigh the advantages. Of course, there is no harm in working long hours every now and then but if this becomes a habit, it will have serious implications for mental and physical health.