Should schools remove non-academic subjects from the syllabus?

There is no denying the fact that school children are under tremendous pressure to perform well in academics. It is not surprising, though. Students who score high grades in academics are more likely to have a successful career in the future. Most schools these days have a curriculum that includes both academic and non-academic subjects. However, many parents and teachers believe that non-academic subjects should be removed from the curriculum so that children can focus on academics. This might sound logical but I do not believe that removing non-academic subjects is the solution. To start with, non-academic activities like dance, drama, singing, cookery or physical education cause hardly any stress. In fact, they provide relaxation and help students concentrate better on academic subjects. Also, learning these subjects is essential for the overall development of children. There are many more reasons to include non-academic subjects in the curriculum. Not all students are academically brilliant. However, this will not be an issue if the student has skills in other areas. For example, a student does not need an A grade in physics or mathematics to be a successful singer, writer or painter. By encouraging students to engage in extra-curricular activities, schools can bring out their hidden talents. This will help not only the students but also the society. After all, not everybody is required to be a doctor or an engineer. The world needs athletes, writers, chefs and actors as well. To conclude, there is no point is eliminating non-academic subjects from the syllabus. In my opinion, schools should encourage students to pursue a career in a field of their choice. This would not be possible without including a variety of topics in the curriculum.