In this modern era, there has been seen a lot of change in the building of families and their roles as compared to the previous century.

In this modern era, there has been seen a lot of change in the building of families and their roles as compared to the previous century. This essay will draw attention to the changes occurring in families and how they are impacting. To begin with, nowadays people prefer to live in a nuclear family rather than in a joint family. Individuals want more privacy or they do not want anyone to intervene in their lives, resulting in the splitting of the relations. Families are becoming smaller having three or four members overall. Today's generation is more serious about their private world, and they apprehend that living with a number of people can cost their privacy. For instance, In Singapore country, a person after the marriage has to buy their own apartment to start their family instead of living in their parent's house. However, In my opinion, joint families play a major role in structuring the life of an individual. In this kind of family, one can learn numerous things from our elders, because they have had more experience the nature of life as they passed through the stages from which new generation will go in future. Elders or others in a joint family can give immediate support in medical or financial crises. In terms of love, their support would be unconditional and helps the younger generation to know the importance of ancestors. In India, most families prefer to live in a group of people, for example, two brothers like to spend their lives under one roof in spite of separation and want their children to do so. In conclusion, besides people are influenced by nuclear families in order to get privacy, but living in a joint culture can bring more positive and peace among the people.