Early people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, older generations are kept in old-age homes instead of being taken care of by their family members. The most important benefit of this change is that a full-time health care professional can take care of the special needs of the older people in care homes. However, such places lack the homely environment required to address the emotional needs of a person. To initiate, the older people generally need to be provided with geriatric diet and various supplements at a specific time of the day, however, it is not always feasible for the family members to be present with older members of the family to take care of these needs. This is to say that the nursing homes have professionals to look after the specific requirements of elderly, for instance, the food, the medicines or any other therapy can be provided properly throughout the day. Moreover, these trained health care persons can be hired to take care of a single person so that more attention is given to his or her needs. On the contrary, elderly people also require emotional help which cannot be made available in old age homes. Moreover, a person desires to receive the love and affection from their own family members to satisfy the emotional needs, although it is not always possible to fulfill these demands in a nursing home. As a result, the senior citizens may get depression and anxiety in care homes. To exemplify, according to a recent survey, 70% of the older people living with their children are happier than their counterparts. To conclude, the major positive aspect of putting older generation in old age homes is the timely professional care provided there. However, people often do not receive the emotional help in these places, which can have a negative impact on their mental health.