Children are spending more time on computers. Advantage/ Disadvantage

The advent of technology is surging through all spheres of life. Computer plays an indispensable role, this is due to breakthrough of science and innovation. Children are using computers extensively, some people think it is significant for the growth of young minds but I feel that excess use of computers have negative effects rather positive outcome. In this contemporary world, everyone leads a sedentary lifestyle including children, they are becoming couch potatoes. After school activity is a not common trend and children like to spend their leisure time either by watching t. v. or playing video games on computers. Generally video games are designed such a way that player thinks that he/she is a ‘Hero’ and can conquer the world. Such games have negative effects on young minds they become rebellious because they want to get everything according to their desire. Repercussions of spending hours in front of computers include weak eye-sight, obesity, bad body postures. If children spend most of the time on computers they will become taciturn, they will not realise the value of meeting people in person. It is very common scenario these days children have so many friends on social networking sites but they lack in basic life skills. Meeting and playing with friends cannot be compensated by meeting them virtually. However, some people feel that computers are great source of knowledge and help us to gain knowledge on quintessential topics. Therefore, they feel that it is paramount for children to learn its application at an early stage because it help in academic as well as career span. In compendium, computers are inevitable part of our lives but excess use has side effects on health and growth of a child. It is important to have parental control, restricting the usage hours and children should not simply just sit at home they should play and enjoy the company of their peers.