In this modern age, a country should give the first priority to the development of artificial intelligence to be recognized as a great nation. Others, however, argue that the government should pay much attention to the general welfare of all its people. Present your perspective on this issue, using relevant reasons and examples to support your viewpoint.

In the age of science and technology, many countries have recognized artificial intelligence as a strategic asset that can help them stand out in the race of development. Whereas, others are in favor of concentrating on providing general welfare for its residents. In my opinion, although I agree that promoting well-being is the better option, a portion of budget should be invested in future evolution. To begin with, AI, short for artificial intelligence creates a new era for our society. One country, in particular, Japan has invested a large number of resources into this technology and has seen astounding results from their investments. With an increasing number of businesses and professions developing and advancing AI, this nation has witnessed a gigantic jump in productivity, efficiency, and an extraordinary optimization in material distribution. Besides, AI machines can do many tasks better than people do, especially in the areas that require high level of calculations and operational skills. For instance, medical robots can carry out surgical procedures with greater precision than human doctor. Or there are now semi-autonomous using sensors and cameras to drive on their own. Such technologies have improved safety by reducing the likelihood of human-based mistakes. These are only two examples, and it is easy to imagine how artificial intelligence will steadily raise the quality of life. On the other hand, the cost of setting up and executing such innovations in technology is immensely high. But for this illogical payment, the government could have satisfied many other urgent requirements of dwellers. Chiefly, there are some sectors of our society where the population lives in poverty and is devoid of resources such as safe food, clean water, and sheds. Furthermore, money should be saved for future disasters as well. To amplify, the world is still going through deadly coronavirus attacks and investments should be spent on medical care for saving millions of people. Without that, how the government would be able to facilitate essential needs for the sick? In conclusion, artificial intelligence seems extremely beneficial If a nation’s budget can afford it but it is advisable for the government of underdeveloped countries to give priority to residential welfare.