In this day and age, there is a tendency that people are interested in learning about their family history background.

In this day and age, there is a tendency that people are interested in learning about their family history background. This trend can be attributed to a variety of convincing reasons and as far as I am concerned, the drawbacks of the development outweigh its benefits. On the one hand, there are multiple compelling causes why individuals are keen on tracing their family tree. One of the main reasons is that they are considerably curious about who their ancestors were and what their role played in society. For instance, it might be interesting if they find out that their great-father was a member of the royal family, which makes them take pride in their origins. Another reason is that genealogy can serve medical purposes. For example, they can be aware of the diseases which they would inherit from their relatives in order to take reasonable precautions to protect their families and themselves. A further reason is that researching the history of their own family is considered a great way to teach their descendants about their family traditions. Therefore, this can be meaningful when unique spiritual legacies can become a topic of discussion for family get-togethers. On the other hand, it strikes me that tracing their family tree is a negative tendency. Apart from purposes related to healthcare, this might be a waste of time and money, especially for young people. Instead of doing this activity, it would be better if they can focus on other important things such as career paths and education. An additional reason is that information about history can have adverse effects on their attitudes about life. For example, a person who has a noble origin can become more arrogant, whereas someone who is a descendent of a criminal can be ashamed and lose their confidence. In conclusion, people like researching their family history for a plethora of purposes, as I mentioned in my essay, and I consider this has various negative consequences.