First list the books you have read in the past year. Next, select one of the books that you found especially insightful. What did you learn from it, and would you recommend that other people read it as well?

Books are an important part of every person's daily life. They give us knowledge which we can't even learn in schools. The books which I've read during 2021 are “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen, “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd” by Agatha Christie, “The notebook” by Nicholas Sparks, “The three comrades” and “The black obelisk” by Erich Maria Remarque. These books are all very special to me, but the one which has really touched my heart is “The three comrades” by Remarque. Erich Maria Remarque is a very powerful novelist. I’ve planned to read all his novels after reading “The three comrades”. Personally I consider it as the most impressive book, which highlights in it the bright and dark sides of a person's life whose hopes and dreams die, who experiences everything good and bad in the world. For example, the loss of a friend, loss of a loved one, health issues which take lifes, life after war, the fight against society's opinion, the non working business, hopes concerning the future, dying dreams, unexpected meetings with the most important ones, etc. By starting the book, I felt really excited, imagined what would happen after, I even dreamt about it. But after reaching the end of the book I understood that I didn’t want to know what would happen afterwards, because I felt that the girl who was loved by the main character of the book, Patricia, was going to die. Of course she died and the cause was her health problems. But this was not the biggest loss. Robert, the main character, lost his closest friend, Lenz. A militant killed him. I was shocked by not the death of Lenz, but by the unemotional response to the death by Robert. What Robert felt was hidden and I guess now I've become like him, full of life, sociable, but also full of unexpressed emotions. They were three comrades, living not their best life, but enjoying every single detail in their life. In conclusion, after reading the book I started to value every particular thing in my life, every person, every meal which I eat, every minute of my time which I spend, my money, ets. This book taught me what a real friendship looks like, what support, love and care for each other is alike. I also learned about how the economic problems of the country can affect the low and middle classes of the population and how they fight for their survival. I would recommend everyone to read “The three comrades”, because it is a book of life, it’s a book of strength, dreams, love and real friendship. I wish for everyone to have the chance and the time to read this amazing book.