The purpose of television should be all educational, not entertaining.

The invention of television changed many things in people’s lives and over the years people created different TV programs for entertainment and other purposes, for example, informing news. Nowadays, television programs are very popular between different age groups. There are TV sets in most households in different countries and there are a variety of TV programs. There are news programs, TV shows, movies, sports and a number of other TV programs that are an important part of people’s lives. In my opinion, it is not vital for television programs to be all educative and there are a number of reasons holding my opinion. First, I think that television should be entertaining too, because people sometimes want to relax watching TV programs for entertainment, not always educational programs. For example, after a long, hard day, coming from work or school you can take some sweets and watch comedies to alleviate your tiredness. Second, television is not the best way to convey knowledge. In order to be well educated, we should search for information in books which are more detailed and organized. There are other forms of education and educational programs, but all television does not need to educate. The majority of people watch television to escape for an hour. As a result of this television should exist to entertain. Last but not least, there are people that are not interested in educational TV programs, so if the purpose of television is all educational, they will lose a large number of audience and their profit will start to decrease. For example, there are channels that only show educational programs such as about science, technology and the majority of people are not interested in that so they will lose too many views. In conclusion, I believe that the main purpose of television should be entertaining but not educational. All of these make me think that television is not an effective way of education.