In the world of the internet, people write product reviews of products and services. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There has been much debate concerning the impacts of writing feedback of products and services for businesses. Some people believe that giving comments is beneficial for companies, while others think reviews could be biased and give negative effects to sellers. This essay agrees that sending feedback after purchasing goods or service is a good development and give several advantages for businesses for the following reasons. To begin with, it might be claimed that reviews and ratings sent by customers are biased. This is because several external factors may influence them before or during giving the feedback such as the package seal is broken because of the careless delivery courier, but they leave the negative comment on the company’s website of the product instead of the delivery service company. Additionally, when the other potential customers visit the website and intend to buy products, they cancel it due to the mistaken subjective review. Consequently, the business may experience a significant decrease in the number of customers. On the other hand, leaving reviews of products and services plays a vital role for businesses to improve their quality of goods and services. This is because online reviews are the easiest and fastest way for companies to get feedback from customers rather than they should hire a market research company to do it. Furthermore, industries could also use the reviews to evaluate their employees’ performance to determine their career progression and salary. For instance, a local bank in Indonesia got a feedback from one of their customers that they wait too long for approximately three hours to just open the bank account, whereas the other bank can accommodate it within one hour. After further investigation, the supervisor realized that the new employee mentioned is not used to work with the computer and resulting in a delay while servicing customers. In conclusion, even though there are personal and subjective assessment influence people while writing feedback which can give negative effect to businesses, the benefits are still outweigh the drawbacks. This is because giving the online feedback can be used for companies to improve their quality of goods and services as well as evaluate their employees’ performance.