In the world and Vietnam, there have been scientific research articles on Investigating problems in writing essays

In the world and Vietnam, there have been scientific research articles on Investigating problems in writing essays of English major students at University. However, this research has not been done at Vinh University yet, so this is the first study on the essay writing problem of language major students at this university. Despite a study investigating essay writing difficulties encountered by tertiary students in Indonesia, particularly in the English Education Department, is still very limited. Therefore, a critical study of tertiary students' essay writing difficulties must be undertaken. The contribution of the study will be a basis for designing or applying the appropriate teaching strategy in Essay Writing Course for tertiary students. Thus, the primary purpose of this study is to analyse essay writing difficulties committed by EFL tertiary students with the research question: What are the tertiary students' difficulties faced in writing essays?