in the western world the percentage of overweight children has increased

In the 21st century health has been a parameter upon which the levels of development of a country can be judged. In contrast to the poorer nations where malnutrition is rampant, in the western world the percentage of overweight children has increased dramatically in the last couple of years. This situation has arised due to a multitude of reasons. Affluent countries were the first to be introduced to the concept of junk food. The children here have been familiarised with these food items way earlier than their counterparts. Also the pop culture in the western world has normalised the take out meals and foods. Childhood obesity is no joke and needs to be given the attention of policy makers and school districts. After all unhealthy children would grow up to be unhealthy individuals and this would harm the nations economy. We need to take into consideration that the children are not the ones making the decisions regarding their foods. While they may be influenced by tv commercials and advertisements finally it is the parents that decide what goes on their plates. For this purpose it is necessary to educate the parents about health and nourishment if we want to safeguard the health of our future generations.