Many children are allowed to do part-time jobs.

These days, many youngsters get involved in working part-time. While there are compelling benefits of this trend, certain disadvantages can be considered. On the one hand, there are particular advantages of children doing a part-time job. Firstly, a part-time job gives youngsters opportunities to earn extra money, meaning that they can provide their own life themselves. Consequently, they do not have to rely on family support and become independent people. For example, in the summertime, numerous restaurants and cafeterias report that almost all of their current waiters are students from the 12 to 18 age group. This is because they want to have a stable income to use for their demands. Secondly, children get used to working with other members while doing a part-time job. This helps them form the habit of collaborating as a team, which is an important skill for future works. On the other hand, one of the most obvious drawbacks of a part-time job to children is that it puts them under the pressure of working, which result in the disability to catch up with lessons and knowledge in class. Consequently, their academic performance would be dreadful. For example, the number of students in Vietnamese schools having to repeat the class has increased significantly in the last decade. This is because, it took them too much time to work and thus, lack time studying schools’ lessons. In addition, working part-time job children may face stressful situations due to the unbalance between studying and working. This leads to serious mental problems affecting their lifestyles. In conclusion, the tendency to take a job is more and more ubiquitous among the young. Although certain advantages need consideration, its drawbacks should not be neglected.