In the past, when students did a University degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, learners have more opportunities to learn at foreign universities as compared with the past, when they took admissions in their home country for higher education. In my opinion, there are more demerits than merits because they have to pay high fees and stay away from their homes. To commence with, the disadvantage of studying at foreign universities is that the cost of learning is more in comparison with local institutes. Besides, they have to pay rent to stay where they are studying. As a consequence, it will increase the burden on their parents who are sponsoring them. For example, the University degree fees at Canadian universities for international students is three times more than the Canadian student. Whereas, if they study in their home country, they can complete their degree at less cost and need not to pay any extra for living as they can live in their own house. Therefore, they can save their parents' money. Moreover, when the study abroad, they go to a place where no one knows them. Due to this, they may get cultural shock and may go into depression. As a consequence, they might Indulge in criminal activities. For instance, in a recent survey conducted by Cambridge University, it is found that approximately 70 percent of students attempted suicide and did robbery due to loneliness. If they stay with their families in their own country, they may not feel isolated and can share their emotions with their dear ones. Hence, it is apparent that it has a more negative effect on the learners. To summarise, although the chances to learn in foreign countries have increased, it has more negative effects as it will increase the financial burden on their parents as well as they may get a cultural shock. I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.