in the past, when students did a university degree, they intended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Unlike the past, where students use to complete their tertiary education in their own country, things have changed a lot these days. With the increasing opportunities to study abroad, students are grabbing this chance to complete their education. This essay will discuss the advantages as well as the disadvantages of studying in a foreign country. Firstly, many universities abroad offer a wide variety of courses which are not available to students in their home country. It helps students to choose the subject of their choice. For instance, there are few Art and Music related courses in India, but many colleges and universities in the USA provide these subjects. Secondly, moving to a foreign country will make a student independent and self-sufficient. The pupil will become more responsible when away from family. Despite these advantages, there are few drawbacks also. Individuals might face difficulty to gel with the new cultures and suffer from a culture shock. The cultures and traditions in India are very different from those in the UK or USA. On the other hand, they may have to live away from family for months and sometimes even for a year or two. Being away from family may lead to psychological problems such as stress and unhappiness. Studying in a foreign country will help students study from numerous options available and make them self-supporting and individualistic. The key to a good experience is an open mind. If a student is presented with this opportunity, they should seize it.