In the past, the older generation was a source of knowledge and experience. Nowadays, the older generation has little understanding or experience on the modern world. Has this had any negative impact in the way elders are treated by family and society? What could be done to solve this situation?

In ancient times, older people were thought to be a source of information in terms of knowledge and experience. At present, however, they have very few knowledge or idea on the modern world. This essay will firstly discuss how elders are treated now and it will then address the possible way to resolve the situation. To begin, it has been huge development in modern word in terms of technology, medicine, treatment and so on. In the past, people used to rely on elders to treat small illness. For example, plant extract was used to treat tiny wound. However, there are lots of medicine available now, therefore, present generation does not rely on them. Older people had no opportunity to use mobile phone, internet or social media. But this time, these have been a mandatory requirement for communication. As the older people have little knowledge on modern technology, however, sometime they try to advise the younger generation not to use these or limit the usage. In some cases, younger generation does not obey them and neglect their advice which leads to negative impact on us. For example, usage of medicine of small illness affects our body adversely and over usage of social media often kill valuable times. Secondly, to solve this issue, people of modern generation need to follow their advice despite their little knowledge on particular things. For instance, if they advise to treat small wound with the plant extract, younger people can treat it as a primary treatment rather than denying them. In addition, in case of gadgets use, they should be careful about that they are not wasting their valuable time chatting in social media. To conclude, despite having lots of development in recent times, modern people should not neglect the elders because of their knowledge and experiences gained from past.