Many People Believe That Advertising Has Negative Effects On Consumers

These days, in order to reach a large number of people, companies advertise their products extensively. Some people think that these advertisements have negative effects on customers. I wholeheartedly agree with this view because adverts mostly show misleading information to create false demand and hire famous people to attract consumers. In fact, some of them are aimed at children who are too young to understand the consequences of using the advertised products. To begin with, most of the time ads compel people to buy unnecessary products. This is because the mere aim of companies is to attract a large number of consumers and inflate their profits. In order to achieve this goal, they come up with an attractive advertisement showing fabricated information which forces people to buy things they do not even need. Another significant concern about TV commercials is that the companies hire well-known celebrities to endorse their products. This misleads people into believing that their favourite stars also use those products and hence they buy them. Additionally, some of the advertisements especially commercials promoting fast food are aimed at children. These products are mostly made of ingredients that can have adverse effects on the health of children. Take for example, advertisement for chips. When children watch an ad of chips on TV, they force their parents to buy them chips. Eating chips, which is full of salt, oil and monosodium glutamate, can make them lazy and obese. Children, who are usually immature, do not understand the consequences of eating such unhealthy food. Thus it is evident that adverts have damaging effects on children. To conclude, I totally agree with the view that adverts are harmful because they mislead consumers with false claims and hire celebrities to endorse their products enhance their sales. Worse still, sometimes ads target little ones who have no clue about how dangerous these items could be for them.