IN THE PAST, MOST PEOPLE USED TO TRAVEL TO THEIR WORKPLACE. WITH INCREASED USE OF COMPUTERS, MORE AND MORE PEOPLE ARE WORKING FROM HOME. DISCUSS THE ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES.

With the latest technology developments, it is evident that a significant proportion of population likes working from home. While it is believed that it increases productivity and gives an opportunity for more family time, others do not necessarily agree with the idea. The essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of work from home facility. Undoubtedly, there are several advantages of working from home. Firstly, it saves time from commuting to and for workplace which leads to more productivity in work. For example, the probability of getting stuck in traffic and turning up late for work is lower. Additionally, this facility also gives a chance for families to spend quality time either by cooking meals, looking after one another when sick or exercising as a group. Moreover, it is agreed by most people that air pollution takes a drastic downline since usage of vehicles are relatively lesser compared to when people use their own form of transport to get to work. On the other hand, people see work from home as a point of distraction as it reduces the efficiency because people feel lethargic and do not put in efforts as they do when they walk into the office. It becomes slightly difficult for managers to track progress of each employee every day. Furthermore, if a person lives alone it might take a toll on their mental health. In summary, the practice of work from home is getting popular in various countries. Although, each aspect has its own positives and negatives, it seems that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.