Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence.

Culture can be defined as a bunch of traditions, beliefs, social behavior, religious and moral values, which are passed from one generation to another. Some people argue that an individual’s culture is influenced by his nation of origin, whereas others think that nationality plays a less significant role in this. Although this essay will discuss both views, however, in my opinion, native land has a less crucial impact on culture in today’s era due to globalization. Firstly, culture is inevitably a reflection of one’s birth land. No matter how far persons live from their native place; they always stay connected to their roots. Culture is passed to children from their parents and relatives as a treasure, even though they have never stayed in their country of origin and have been raised in distant places. To illustrate, Indians residing abroad, such as the United States or Australia still celebrate Diwali and Holi with great zest. Moreover, they enjoy eating the delicacies of their nation even in a foreign land. Despite the above arguments, I strongly believe that culture is influenced by a person’s birthplace only to a certain extent, whereas it is highly influenced by the society and people we are surrounded by. Internationalization has given rise to cultural globalization; marked by the common consumption of cultures that have been diffused by the internet and international travel. Hence, we have easy access to different countries’ traditions, cuisines, and languages, so people tend to choose what they like. For instance, several foreigners are now adopting Indian food and yoga after the catastrophic impact of COVID-19 for their better health. Also, Buddhism is gaining wide popularity in different parts of the world because of the serene chants they offer and numerous people follow it even though they belong to different religions. Apart from it, nowadays, we often meet people from diverse social backgrounds while studying or working abroad or due to international tourism and we do not hesitate to embrace positive things about their culture such as some food items, attire, and values. In conclusion, it would be untrue to say that cultural influence on a person from their mainland is the only aspect; because it is undoubtedly dominated by the society they are raised in and the people they interact with.