In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is considered that, as many individuals traveled long distances to reach their place of work and there has been a rapid increase in the use of internet and mobile phones, many people have considered working from home. There are both pros and cons to this. Firstly, the advantage of working from our house is, it saves the traveling time which can be used for productive work, to relax, take some time off from the daily routine to refresh, or to spend some quality time with family members. For instance, in metropolitan cities like Mumbai where people travel long distances to reach the main city, a statistic stated that an individual, staying in the city, on average spends 4 hours a day only for the purpose of traveling. This time can be saved by the working-class while doing their job staying at home and eventually, it can turn out to be beneficial as they can invest the extra time to do some activity on weekdays as well without compromising on work. But on the contrary, there are some disadvantages to this, as not all jobs can be done at our residence, even if the person has the best technology available with him. For example, those who work in factories and manufacturing industries cannot carry on doing their jobs on laptops and computers, similar is the case with doctors who has no option but to visit the hospitals to perform surgery. Finally, it can be concluded that working from a comfort zone has its advantages and it also saves unnecessary traveling time but, this fact cannot be overshadowed that, some jobs do require people to visit the place of work as that job cannot be done at our respective places where we reside. Thus, it can be said that working from home completely depends upon the profession of the individual.