You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Newspapers and televisions are becoming a thing of the past. In a lot of countries, only a few people from the younger generation still read the newspaper or watch the news on TV. Majority are deviating from this practice. In this essay, we will discuss the causes and solutions for this decline. The number one cause for this decline is the rise in technology. Nowadays, every single person be young or old has a mobile phone in their possession and all mobile phones have access to the internet. With internet and social media being so easily available, the younger generation tends to use these platforms as a means of getting their news and staying relevant. They prefer this over old school methods because the information they aquire is firstly, available to them in seconds and secondly, it's in real-time. For example, when Australia had a serious case of wildfires, it started trending on Twitter and the news reached across the world in seconds. Whereas, it would take a couple of hours for reporters to pick it up and broadcast it on TVs. Another reason the younger generation disapproves newspapers and tv news is because it is not reliable. Reporters usually build up a story for the news to sell and this does not align with the people. The solution to getting people interested in watching the news or reading the newspapers again would be to stay reliable and honest. Newspapers can also go digital by writing their articles online as this is a preferred means of gaining information by the people. To conclude, technology is not going to go away. The only way to get to young people to read newspapers or following the news channels is by going digital. Newspaper agencies and reporters have to adapt by going online and stay relevant and truthful in their articles.