In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

These days, more people have started working from home with technological devices which connect them to the internet rather than commuting daily to job. In this essay, I will talk about the drawbacks and benefits of this advancement. On the one hand, working from home will provide workers more personal space and freedom. Without the obligation of travelling to an office every day, people can manage their daily life more efficiently eliminating commuting, which not only waste time but also causes lots of stress. Also, the ability of managing their own day will give people a chance to handle their personal life outside of business. For instance, a working mother can easily take care of her toddler while completing her tasks. Furthermore, it’s important to ensure life continues during disasters like the recent pandemic where working from home is the only effective solution. On the other hand, lack of discipline without the work environment can have too many distracting factors such as television or internet. Also, having colleagues and superiors around available to assist with the task related problems can be easier to solve things rather than via email or phone calls. In conclusion, despite the possibility of less disciplined job, I believe working remotely has advantages which outweigh its disadvantages. The reason being, it can decrease individual stress levels by giving the ability of time management and allows businesses to continue working regardless of current global issues.