Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it.

Environmental protection has been a hot debate in recent decades among various groups of organizations, government and individuals. It is due to the excessive usage and over-exploitation of natural resources by humans. It is often argued that the responsibility of environmental protection is to lay on the government, while some argued that everyone around the globe should take part in it. Personally, after considering both sides of view, I admit that both sides are indispensable to achieve a better environment on Earth. To start off, I believe that the government plays a crucial role to guide citizens to develop a daily habit to protect the surroundings. By formulating legislative establishments, for instance, plastic bags usage restriction, also draw up a relative punishment, can undoubtedly create a deterrence effect towards to public. In the long run, people living within the nation can build up a habit of environmental protection and maintain the activities to enhance environmental preservation. Moreover, the government is liable to set up different knowledge about environmental protection in the education curriculum. Through educating the next generation to be an ecology-concerned person, the mindset of sheltering the environment will be rooted in them. On the other hand, individuals should not solely rely on the government, but also be responsible for maintaining the health of the Earth. It is encouraged that every individual should receive and search for more information about the Earth and the consequences of excessive exploitation. Also it is critical that people should develop a sense of protecting the resources and perform their own roles and duty. To sum up, I deem that everyone who lives in the global village should take the responsibility to be the safeguard of the land we are living in, so as to achieve a more prosperous and blossom future in the next few decades.