In the past, lecturers were used as a way of teaching large numbers of students, but now with the development of technology for education, many people think there is no justification for attending lectures. with this

It is undoubtedly that learning a foreign language is essential for children. However, educational institutions should not force the student to learn it. I share a similar point of view with this statement with the reasons stated below. To begin with, pushing the youngsters to learn the second language in the school is not an ideal method to improve their language ability due to the fact there is a shortage number of competent teachers to deliver this knowledge. In Indonesia, for instance, just a small number of English subject in the school is taught by subject specialist teachers. This affects the teaching methods and materials used in the classroom and the tutors are unable to stimulate language-learning activities resulting in the pupils becoming passive participants. Consequently, this process is waste time without significant benefit to the student. Furthermore, the school curriculum consists of various fundamental subjects such as math, science and social sciences in which they are compulsory subjects. The curriculum grade 6 of the elementary school in Indonesia, for example, has at least 6 or 7 mandatory subjects and minimum 3 additional subjects. This is a heavy burden for the youngster and by obligating them to acquire the second language may cause overpressure leading to a declining of academic performance. To sum up, although, it is admittedly that foreign language is beneficial for children in many ways, I, convinced that the educational institutions should not compel the student to learn the second language because there is a limited number of competent human resources to transfer this knowledge and a complicated curriculum system the school.