In the modern world, where people are in a constant rush after the clock hand, do we dedicate some of our luxurious time to the community? To a question so formulated some people, I believe would give an overt sniff of disapproval, some others might nod approval while some would simply show a callous indifference.

In the modern world, where people are in a constant rush after the clock hand, do we dedicate some of our luxurious time to the community? To a question so formulated some people, I believe would give an overt sniff of disapproval, some others might nod approval while some would simply show a callous indifference. As far as I’m concerned, I would gravitate towards the opinion that we, the youngsters don’t always put time and effort to contribute to our communities. My opinion is informed by the considerations which the paragraphs below will spell out in greater detail. To begin with, we should agree on the dictum that in the modern world, where individualism and the egoizm are reigning over the humanity, we are over concentrated on our personal needs and often forget that world is not orbiting around us. Moreover, we seem to forget that we are particles of the society who have certain responsibilities as its members. Also, I have the solid impression that the value system has drastically changed during the last half century. Unlikez today, when everyone is on his/her own, people used to be “One for all and all for one” a few decades ago. For instance, my old friend Roger, who was born and lives in France for almost 80 years, has endless stories about his volunteering years in the community youngsters’ clubs. He enjoys telling how they were gathering together every week to organize charity and entertaining events for the community. For me, he is a shining example of a person who truly cares for the environment and people he is around. However, I should sadly admit that I don’t know many “Rogers” among my friends and colleagues. To reveal yet another aspect of my stance, I insinuate that the breathtaking pace of the modern world seems to have entirely immersed us and sometimes, objectively, we don’t have even a spare minute to dedicate to the socium. To put it otherwise, our workload is so heavy that we have to prioritize our activities and as it usually happens, community-related activities are not ones of higher importance. In closure, the spectrum of opinions people might entertain on this following subject can be wide and divers. And as much as of this essay tried to demonstrate I think that young people do not provide enough time to the community as a result of individual oriented values and extreme lack of time.