In the modern world there is a movement away from written exams to more practical assessment. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Written exams have been the only method of examining students for many decades. Today, there is a new trend for assessing students with practical assessments instead of the traditional written exams, but there are benefits and negative consequences. First, it is generally accepted that technology has dramatically changed the way students are taught and evaluated. Today, students are familiar with technology, so it is easier for them to study and examine compared to previous generations. For example, new technologies are interactive and practical, so it is easier to create environments where students can learn to receive feedback and continually improve and develop critical skills. In addition, assessment methods such as interviews, group work, presentations and laboratory experiments prepare the student to face the challenges in professional life. As for the disadvantages of practical assessment, many students can cheat the assessment process and pass the exams with little study commitment. For example, students can open their books to find the right answer and, therefore, pass the exams without developing knowledge. In addition, in some courses where they are theoretical, such as the history course, they may not exist because there are not enough requirements for practical assessment. In conclusion, despite the disadvantages of practical examinations, it has become one of the main assessment procedures for students recently, but written examinations are also widely used around the world. In my opinion, both types of exams are required to explore students' skills and abilities.