Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the last three decades, traffic congestion has become one of the urgent problems that the governments need to solve. The majority of people have preferred to drive their cars rather than using public transportation. Therefore, governments should encourage individuals to use public transport more than usual. Nowadays, developed countries have funded more money to improve transportation sectors. There are plenty of highways and main roads have been enhanced day by day although, authorities have supported infrastructure of railways, ferry lines and airports. For example, many subway stations are conveniently located at the workplace. If employees tend to commute via public transport, they can find many alternatives. On top of that, some countries prioritize constructing cycle routes that merge to roads. Some governments might impose more taxes for vehicles. It is a good way to reduce traffic jams and also it keeps a clean environment. On the other side of the coin, car ownership has risen significantly. Advanced car technologies have influenced users so they are eager to possess new ones. However, I believe that a car is necessary if you have a big family. Additionally, many young people make an effort to buy a car throughout their working life. It gives them independence but nobody wants to be stuck in traffic congestion. So citizens have to consider traffic intense day hours, they may use navigation not to cause intensity on the road. Another recommendation of that, trucks and articulated lorries have been restricted in the city center and highways at heavy traffic times to reduce congestion. In conclusion, governments need to impose traffic rules to reduce traffic jams. In addition to that, if the government put some incentives to increase cycling, some people may give up cars. It would be preferable if people find more options for commuting. Ultimately, people have become more conscientious so traffic congestions should become a downward trend.