In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shopping becomes a fashion and it is a weekend activity. People prefer to buy from large shopping centers or malls rather than from their near shops. In my opinion it is a positive development. Firstly, people want to explore many ranges of products. It is possible in big malls or wide shopping centers where customers compare products with other products. Besides, the customer finds varieties of products. He may choose which company product he wants to buy. For example D-mart has many varieties of biscuit products like parle-G, Patanjali, Marrie gold biscuits and so on. Thus, people can select and explore varieties of products and find which is the latest product available in the market. Secondly, shopping in malls and city center has become a trend as it shows status to their living. People find the standard badge on their shopping items. Such as, there is a wide range of shoes from Bata to Mochi in malls. In addition, malls have all price variations. Thus, the lower class and upper class both can maintain their budget. Lastly, malls required large setup area, it may be far away from public societies. Hence, people enjoy a long drive with the family. Nowadays malls and city centers have many restaurants and to entertain multiplex cinemas whereas some malls have children area also. For example, Reliance mall has a supermarket for daily provisions, clothing store, icecream parlor as well as children’s rides. So the customer satisfies all his needs in one place. In conclusion, a customer finds everything under one roof in malls and larger shopping center. It is attracted by all age of customers. It is suggested that there should be a mall at various places in the city.