In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

In recent years, distance teaching and learning has become increasingly popular among the students and this is perceived differently by learners. Many students perceive this as a beneficial aid in learning while others think that they are not as effective as classroom teaching. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of distant learning. Studying an online course provides flexible timing and less budgeted learning for students. They are able to learn their desire course and subjects at their suitable time. This gives a great opportunity for learners to gain new skills and strengthen their knowledge level by staying in their own place. For instance, a Nepali student who wants an Australian degree in business management course does not have to stay in Australia, he can study online and complete the course by staying at his home. Hence, distance learning is economic and time-saving. However, online courses give more emphasis on the theoretical part of learning and there are less teacher and student interaction. It lacks the practical aspects of learning and encourages passive learning. This is very obvious that students find it as less effective learning than in the classroom. A recent study suggests that a greater number of students found classroom teaching far more effective than distance learning. In conclusion, the ever-growing availability of online learning has gained popularity among young adults for many years, which is perceived as beneficial by many people while others find it to be less effective. The emphasis can be given to its effectiveness to establish it as the most cost-effective learning than classroom teaching.