In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching.

Distance learning has become increasingly popular among the students, and this trend is perceived differently by learners. Many students perceive it as an improvement in learning techniques, while others think that it is not as much effective as classroom learning. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of distant learning. Studying in an online course provides a flexible schedule and less expense for the students. They are able to learn their desired course and subjects on their suitable time. This gives a great opportunity for learners to gain new skills and accumulate their knowledge, while still staying in their own place. For instance, a Nepali student who wants an Australian degree in business management does not have to stay in Australia, because he can study online and complete course by staying at his home. Hence, distant learning is economically efficient and time-saving. However, online courses give more emphasis on the theoretical part of learning and there is less teacher-student interaction. It lacks the practical aspects of learning and encourages passive learning. As a result, students find it as a less effective learning method than that of in the classroom. A recent study suggests that a greater number of students found classroom teaching far more effective than the distance teaching. In conclusion, the ever growing availability of online learning has gained its popularity among the young adults for many years, which is perceived as beneficial by many people while others find it to be less effective. The emphasis can be given to its effectiveness as a more cost-effective learning method than the classroom teaching.