In the last century when a human astronaut first arrived on the Moon he said: “It is a big step for mankind”. But some people think it makes little difference to our daily life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Almost every day we read something in the papers about the latest exciting developments in the space race. Some people may argue that our ability to explore the moon was a significant achievement of the twentieth century while others argue that this has not impacted our lives at all. Both points of view have their merits as will now be explained. To embark with, the technology that put men on the moon, launched space crafts and will build a space station has found its way into everyday life on earth. The common smoke detector used in homes was first prepared for space shuttles as a warning system. For instance, Computer bar codes in retail stores, lightweight materials used for helmets and sporting materials were all first developed as part of space research. Moreover, Space technology has provided many benefits to the medical field as well. Pace makers are used to treat cardiovascular diseases as well as remote monitoring devices for intensive care patients are few applications of space technology providing daily benefits in hospitals, offices and homes. To exemplify, CT scans, Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and ultrasound techniques were originated in NASA to make global measurements of surface changes using advanced radar imaging. On the other hand, it can be said that the money spent on research, space ships and training of astronauts has been wasted because we have not benefited in terms of our standard of living, while this money could have been used in more urgent problems, such as saving poor people who may die of malnutrition, starvation, or war. For example, by subsidizing healthcare sector, many more people could get medical coverage. To conclude, although the benefits of exploring the moon cannot be said to be significant when considering the standard of our lives, I definitely believe that exploring space is a big leap for mankind.