In the last century, the first man to walk on the moon said it was "a giant leap for mankind”. However, some people think it has made little difference to our daily lives.

Undeniably, space explorations have revolutionised our world since last decades. As Yuri Gagarin stepped on the moon, humans’ lifestyles have changed far considerably. From my view, the benefits humans earned from this section can be greater than the minimal drawbacks. On the one hand, investment on space projects is less important than other problems humans have. The first one is nourishment of the poor people. Each year, billions of dollars are considered by plenty of developed countries for this sector, while this money can be used in more essential parts, including farming. In particular, in Africa, thousands of people die because of the shortage of food annually; however, had the US government assisted these nations, more humans would have survived. Moreover, instead of focusing on the space voyage, international organisations must have pay attention more on refugees. Each year thousands of humans in the Middle East lose their home and have to leave their country. As a prime example, recently hundreds of thousands of People in Syria fled to Europe, whereas never sending a spacecraft to Mars can be useful to protect them. As a result, humanity has more important issues which must be solved than sending the man to the moon. On the other hand, I think the benefits gained by space travelling can be far considerable than its marginal drawbacks. The first reason behind it is that it has led other technologies to develop more. Definitely, had not scientists used space navigation technologies in aircraft, passengers would not have reached their destination so fast. For instance, the materials used in the body of new planes are copied from Shuttle, increasing their speed and having more efficient fuel consumption. Furthermore, it will help humans to find another planet for living. Obviously, knowing more about space and other planets will assist scientists to find another option except for Earth because we cannot predict how long our plant will be alive. For this reason, recently scientists in NASA are to send some volunteers to Mars to find out more about its environment and probable choice for living of humans in the future. Without having a thoughtful plan other generations’ safety might become more at risk by some unpredictable natural accidents destroying our globe. To sum up, although space exploration might be useless compared with other important problem nations have, its benefits should not be forgotten. I personally believe that it has led humans to live in a more modern world, and a safer alternative planet might be found by this development.