In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, these developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive

The authorities in some countries rank economic improvement over other issues. I support this view because the benefits of this policy offset the demerits as it will improve the employment status and the standard of living. One commonly cited disadvantage of the government prioritising growth in the economy of a nation over other issues is the negative impact on the health of the citizens. A major reason for this is that many employers would put more emphasis on work rather than the wellbeing of their employees. Thus, they could extend the duration of work, limit holidays and promote working overtime so as to increase profits. This has deleterious health consequences. For example, in recent years, some workers in Japan choose to work overtime or without a break. Although, this causes significant growth in the economy, however, some of this people develop health problems like depression, anxiety disorder and cardiovascular disease. This reveals the negative impact of such a policy. Despite this, there are two important advantages of increased emphasis on economic growth. First of all, it increases the job opportunities in many countries. People are often encouraged to start a business which would contribute positive to the nation's economy, coupled with the rise in capital flight into the country from foreign investors. As a consequence, there are more job offers in new companies and in other expanded industries. Furthermore, the standard of living of people in such countries improves. This is owing to the fact that improvements in a nation's economy would result in infrastructural developments such as better accommodations, good public transportation systems, improved health care and more social amenities. Therefore, people would be more satisfied with the work and their living conditions. In conclusion, although when government prioritises economic growth over other concerns, this could create more health challenges. However, I believe that the benefits of improved employment and the standards of living is more important.