In the future many people will choose to go on holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday.

Holiday travel and tourism has gained a lot of popularity in recent times. However, there is a recent arguement that in the nearest future people will prefer have vacations in their own country rather than travelling to other countries. This essay will disagree and explain why this is so. Having holidays in ones country is quite mundane and unexciting. The purpose of holidays is to unwind and have a breathe of fresh air which in my opinion may not be guaranteed in ones own country because of over familiarity to the environment. For instance, statistics shows that Olumo rock which is one of the tourist attractions in Nigeria, receives more foreign tourist than its indigenous population. This shows that holiday makers will rather visit tourist places of attraction outside their countries. Also, people go on holiday for the sole reasons of meeting new people, learning new culture and getting an international experience. To achieve these objectives, these holiday makers need to travel outside their home countries. For example, an article from the Daily Newspaper suggested that 90% of international relationships amongst people was formed when people traveled for holidays. Consequently, travelling outside the country for holidays is a trend that will continue in the future. Admittedly, there are lots of tourist attractions in home countries where people visit on a regular basis, however, when it comes to going on holiday and vacation, people will rather plan to travel to other countries because that is the only way to make their vacations worthwhile.