Atomic energy is becoming more and more popular energy source. However, some people argue that nuclear power puts life on the Earth to danger. What is your opinion?

The number of nuclear power stations has significantly risen during the last few decades. This trend demonstrates the growing popularity of this source, which looks promising in our eternal struggle for cheap and unlimited energy. However, I agree with people who consider atomic power a menace to both humanity and the environment. It is indisputable, that the nuclear power sector has its own benefits. Firstly, energy stations using highly radioactive elements as fuel are more efficient from an economic perspective. The chief reason is lower costs and the amount of energy stored in less material in comparison with organic carriers such as coal, gas and oil. Besides, almost no harmful by-products are discharged by nuclear stations, and they virtually may be considered ecologically clean facilities when operating in normal conditions. Nevertheless, from my perspective, the danger of nuclear power overweighs its advantages. Namely, the risks of radioactive substance leakage, provoked by explosions and other industrial accidents are quite high. Chernobyl and Fukushima's notorious cases illustrate a perfect example of destruction to the environment and population caused by atomic catastrophes. The next threat is the potential availability of nuclear materials for terrorists and other illegal groups, which are ready to create and use an atomic weapon against peaceful people. Also, the amount of radioactive minerals is limited. Thus, sooner or later its stores on the planet will be finished, which means the same energy crisis expected from the depletion of organic fuels is inevitable. To conclude, despite the evident advantages of atomic power, it represents a great danger to the environment and people. Therefore, it seems more reasonable to develop renewable sources like solar energy, wind power and others.