In the future it is likely that people will no longer use coins or paper money to pay for things, instead everyone will only use plastic cards (credit, debit Store Cards, Web Cards, etc) Would this be a positive or negative development. Discuss…

with the rapid growth of the technology and the global economy, we can predict that the notes and coins will be eradicated by the electronic transaction frameworks in the future. The favourable and adverse effects attached to the plastic cards for making payments would be examined in greater depth by this essay. According to that, Predominant advantage of using debit and credit cards is the ability of making payments in variety of currencies within few seconds, which has huge potential to access global market by people across the world. Other than that it provides greater security and reduce the risk of carrying large sums of money around. For instance, mobile message or call verification is performed by most card companies prior to the large amount of payments. Further it facilitates customers to extract all the transactions they have made in the period within very short time, which could be led to enhance the transparency. However, in despite of electronic payments with enormous benefits, some problems are still being arisen due to various situations. The serious issue is that some individuals with credit and debit cards are easily frauded by hackers and Cybercriminals illegally, which often happens due to card holder’s inadequate knowledge about handling cards properly. Another noticeable disadvantage is that individual’s saving power is reduced since they tend to purchase more and more by spending lots of money from their electronic cards, proven by latest studies. To recapitulate, in the future, people have no choice other than use of this digital payment methods and the detrimental effects that discussed above could be easily managed. That’s why many are still favour in performing transactions via visa and master cards notwithstanding its negligible adverse effects.