In the context of COVID-19 pandemic, covering faces in public is compulsory in a lot of countries. However, a considerable number of people object this law as they think that it is an act of humna rights violations.

In respect of the Covid-19 epidemic, face cover in the public is obligatory in various countries. Nevertheless, there are schools of thought that believe this law infringes on human rights. Personally, I object to this statement. First and foremost, human rights can be legally regulated by the authorities. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR) provides that everyone has “the right to life, liberty, and security of persons”. Similarly, the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) details that “everyone’s right to life shall be protected by law”. However, it is also clearly stated that rights can be legitimately restricted by governments. According to the ECHR, human rights can be restricted for national security, public safety, protection of health, and rights of others. In this case, masks and face covers are required inasmuch as the pandemic is at its height. This protection is similar to the obligatory to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle or the ban of smoking in closed places. It is said by some people that, as a human, they can “do whatever they want”, and as a result, this law in face cover violates their rights. Nevertheless, this statement is incorrect. While as humans, people have their own rights, these rights are constrained by law. Laws are laid down with an aim to protecting and organizing the community. In the context of COVID-19, lack of face cover is considered menacing and might lead to the spread of this disease. In this case, the law is legitimately doing its job, protecting the public from health threats, specifically the virus corona.