In the contemporary world, living together with your partner before marriage has become a tradition. The young generation think of marriage as a big responsibility

In the contemporary world, living together with your partner before marriage has become a tradition. The young generation think of marriage as a big responsibility and believe in taking decisions wisely after analyzing all the pros and cons. As I belong to the same generation and understand the complexities of relationships hence, I strongly agree with the statement that live-in-relationship should be promoted before giving the life-long commitments. In the western culture, staying together under one roof without any legal association is very common. On the other hand, the majority of the Indian population consider it as non-ethical and against our culture. They are of opinion that cohabitation may lead to the end of a bond. In my view, spending maximum time together will give better understanding of the other person, and we will be able to know the negative sides as well. A person might pretend for few hours but doing it for too long is not possible. Furthermore, it also helps in self introspection as we get to know more about our capabilities of adjusting with others apart from family. People tend to build a special physical, mental and emotional bond with their better halves. In addition to that, if we are unable to develop any connection with the person even after living together then it will be fruitful for us as we cannot spend whole life with whom we didn't feel any affection. This can also be a solution for curbing the increased divorce rates problems. For instance, couples who meet through the arranged set up and decide to get married after 2 or 3 meets may face issues in adjusting or settling up with their partners after marriage as there will be no comfort level between them and might end up in separation. While couples who were already living together will be able to cope with the difficulties in much better ways. To conclude, I would like to acknowledge that living together is the best way of knowing people. Hence, before tying knots it is crucial that we know the person with whom we are planning to spend the rest of our lives rather than marrying an unknown person.