In the contemporary world, films and TV programmes play a key role in the daily life of many people.

In the contemporary world, films and TV productions play a key role in the daily life of many people. While some people opine that bringing in foreign countries’ television programmes can benefit the culture of a country, others argue that having original film and TV shows is significantly better. This essay will analyze both views before any conclusion is reached. There are some reasons why many people advocate countries making movies and TV programmes of their own. First and foremost, by manufacturing domestic TV shows, countries can preserve their culture. Through movies and TV programmes, film producers can utilize their cultural traditions and customs and put them to the screen. Thus making these traditions and customs more popular among the public especially the younger generation or even overseas audiences. Secondly, domestic filmmaking can be equivalent to more jobs such as directors, script writers and actors. This can help more people to make a living and support their family. Nevertheless, the view that countries importing films and TV shows from different countries sound more convincing to me. To begin with, through these foreign television programmes, a country’s culture can be enriched with diversity. When people interact with these means of entertainment, as well as the use of propaganda, the local community can learn from those information and change for the better. Furthermore, international TV shows and movies are proven to help people to improve their language skills. When watching other countries’ TV shows, the audience can learn from the way that foreigners talk and communicate, thus enhancing their ability to use the language. In conclusion, while the view that manufacturing domestic films and TV shows can benefit a country is true to some extent when it comes to preserving culture and creating more jobs, I think that importing movies and TV shows from other countries is more reasonable